Our zSpace Experience

On April 30th, my peers and I were lucky enough to explore zSpace, which is a growing technology provider that specializes in an alternative learning system. Using zSpace, we were able to view 3D organisms on a monitor with specialized glasses that move the object as you change your view, and we were able to “dissect” the organisms ourselves, pull them out of the screen, and view their labeled parts.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 10.35.11 PMIn this image, I am pulling the 3D organism out of the monitor and viewing its dissected parts from all different angles. I was not only impressed by this display, but also excited that technology was becoming increasingly accommodating to visual learners such as myself.

 

 

To have a greater understanding of what exactly can be performed on zSpace, check out this demo video.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 10.44.06 PM

 

At the end of the field trip, I think I can speak for all my classmates when I say zSpace was
an exciting learning tool that I look forward to using in the future, if I have the opportunity.

 

 

 

For more information on zSpace and it’s resources, check out it’s website here!

Have any burning questions for zSpace? Tweet them @zSpace, and #apbio3 to get our class involved as well!

3 Comments

  1. lmorabe15

    zSpace was awesome and a great way for students to perform dissections and get to learn more about the animals without having to get their hands dirty!I like how you added a demo to show others how zSpace works!

  2. I want one!! Too expensive though, I presume…

  3. I am so glad that we got to experience zSpace. I am thrilled that you were all as fascinated as I was. Totally cool! Would love to bring zSpace to NDB!

Leave a Reply

